Legislative Drafting Webinar | Artificial Intelligence in Administrative Decision-Making

Date: May 17, 2021 / 00:00 am
Price per person: CIAJ Members: $35 / Non Members: $50
Location: 120-minute webinar beginning at noon ET (see the different time zones across Canada)

Overview

This session will look at the use of artificial intelligence (AI) in administrative decision-making and consider the legal and ethical implications, particularly in drafting legislation establishing administrative regimes.

Speaker

  • Professor Paul Daly, Chair in Administrative Law and Governance, University of Ottawa
  • Patrick McEvenue, Director – Express Entry & Digital Policy, Strategic Policy and Planning, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
  • Michelle Mann, General Counsel, Legal Services, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, Government of Canada

Moderator

  • Scott Webber, Legislative Counsel | Office of Legislative Counsel

Broadcast time across Canada (Monday, May 17, 2021):
PT: 9:00–11:00 am
MT: 10:00 am – Noon
CT: 11:00 am–1:00 pm
ET: Noon–2:00 pm
AT: 1:00–3:00 pm
NT: 1:30–2:30 pm

NOTE
Group viewing is recommended in a room (or rooms) with audio-visual equipment sufficient to accommodate the number of registrants expected at your location. A link to the webinar platform and a password will be sent by email  24-48 hours prior to the event. It is recommended to test the platform beforehand. Group members should register individually at the rate of $35/participants.

Contact

For further information, please contact the Program Coordinator, Mary Plagakis
Tel.: 514-731-2855, extension 4
Email: mary.plagakis@ciaj-icaj.ca