Legislative Drafting Webinar | Legislative Drafting in Time of Pandemic

Date: June 7, 2021 / 00:00 am
Price per person: CIAJ Members: $35 / Non Members: $50
Location: 90-minute webinar beginning at noon ET (see the different time zones across Canada)

Overview

This webinar will look at how drafting offices have responded to the challenges of drafting legislation to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic. It will also consider how judges have responded to some of the court challenges to this legislation, notably challenges based on the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Speakers

  • Glenn Joynt, Legislative Counsel and Assistant Deputy Minister, Legislative Counsel Division, Manitoba Justice
  • Riri Shen, Deputy Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Law and Legislative Services Sector, Department of Justice Canada
  • Mark Spakowski, Chief Legislative Counsel, Ministry of the Attorney General, Ontario

Moderator

  • John Mark Keyes, Sessional Professor, Faculty of Law – Common Law Section, University of Ottawa

Broadcast time across Canada (Monday, June 7, 2021):
PT: 9:00–10:30 am
MT: 10:00 – 11:30 am
CT: 11:00 am–12:30 pm
ET: Noon–1:30 pm
AT: 1:00–2:30 pm
NT: 1:30–3:00 pm

NOTE
Group viewing is recommended in a room (or rooms) with audio-visual equipment sufficient to accommodate the number of registrants expected at your location. A link to the webinar platform and a password will be sent by email  24-48 hours prior to the event. It is recommended to test the platform beforehand. Group members should register individually at the rate of $35/participants.

Contact

For further information, please contact the Program Coordinator, Mary Plagakis
Tel.: 514-731-2855, extension 4
Email: mary.plagakis@ciaj-icaj.ca