Live Webinar | Ageism and Neglect During the COVID-19 Pandemic: How Can We Do Better?

Date: June 23, 2020 / 11:00 am
Price per person: $35 (Groups should register at the rate of $35 x the number of participants) / Free for CIAJ Members, but it is mandatory to fill the registration form.
Location: 60-minute webinar beginning at 11:00 am ET ***The registration form will be available until June 23, 2020 at 9:30 am (ET)

***This event is past, but it is possible to buy the archived video here: https://ciaj-icaj.ca/en/library/videos/webinars-cpd/#goto-2020-ageism-and-neglect-during-the-covid-19-pandemic-how-can-we-do-better

Overview

More than half of the COVID-19 cases in Canada are linked to seniors’ homes. Is this fallout a reflection of a disregard for older people in Canadian society? Which safeguards should have been in place to prevent such a failing, and what can we do to protect our seniors in the future? In what ways should Canadian law adapt to better shield seniors and vulnerable people from becoming casualties amidst health and legal crises?

Speakers

  • Martine Lagacé, Associate Vice-President, Research Promotion and Development, University of Ottawa

Martine Lagacé was appointed Associate Vice-President, Research Promotion and Development at the University of Ottawa in 2018, for a five-year term. She is a Professor in the Department of Communication and is affiliated with the School of Psychology. Professor Lagacé was Vice-Dean, Governance for the Faculty of Arts from 2014 to 2018, and Director of the Department of Communication from 2011 to 2012. In addition to her administrative experience, she has extensive expertise in journalism, having worked at Radio-Canada for more than 10 years.

Jane Meadus is the Institutional Advocate at the Advocacy Centre for the Elderly. She represents clients in long-term care homes, hospitals, psychiatric facilities and care homes (retirement homes) with respect to related legal issues. Ms. Meadus has a B.A. Anthropology from McMaster University, an LL.B. from the University of Ottawa and was called to the bar in Ontario in 1993. Ms. Meadus practiced in the private bar until joining the Advocacy Centre for the Elderly in 1995.

Moderator

  • Maria Aylward, Lawyer, Manager, Project and Business Development, CIAJ

NOTE
Indications on how to access the GoToWebinar platform will be sent by email 48 hours prior to the event. It is recommended to test the platform beforehand. If not CIAJ Members, groups should register at the rate of $35 x the number of participants. The video will be available on demand one day after the live webcast. A French session will take place at 1 pm, which requires a separate registration.

Broadcast time across Canada (Tuesday, June 23, 2020):
PT 8–9 am
MT 9–10 am
CT 10–11 am
ET 11 am–Noon
AT Noon–12:30 pm
NT 12:30–1:30 pm

Contact

For further information, please contact the Program Coordinator, Mary Plagakis
Tel.: 514-731-2855, extension 4
Fax: 514-731-3247
Email: mary.plagakis@ciaj-icaj.ca