## Recommend a candidate!

At CIAJ's tenth Anniversary, in 1984, the Board of Directors established a Justice Medal Award to be awarded every second year as a mark of exceptional achievement to a person who, in the opinion of the CIAJ, has shown distinctive leadership in the administration of justice in Canada, or by his or her writings or other endeavours, has made a significant contribution to the administration of justice in Canada.

The Medal was not awarded in 2021 due to the pandemic. The CIAJ Board of Directors invites you to submit your nominations for the 2022 Medal Award. The Medal will be presented at the 2022 Annual Conference, which will take place in Halifax.

Deadline for nominations: September 15, 2022.

## **Past Recipients**

Professor Emeritus John McCamus (ON) and The Honourable Patrick J. LeSage (ON) • 2019 The Honourable Thomas A. Cromwell (SCC) • 2017 The Honourable Murray Sinclair (Manitoba) • 2015 The Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin (SCC) • 2013 The Honourable René Dussault (Québec) • 2011 The Honourable Frank Iacobucci (SCC) • 2009 The Honourable Justice Richard D. Schneider (Ontario) • 2007 The Late Honourable Alan B. Gold (Québec) • 2005 The Late Honourable Constance R. Glube (N.S.) and The Late Honourable Kenneth M. Lysyk (BCSC) • 2003 The Honourable Horace Krever (Ontario) • 2001 Professor Ed Ratushny (Ottawa) • 1999 The Honourable Claire L'Heureux-Dubé (SCC) and The Honourable **Sidney Linden** (Ontario) • 1997 The Honourable W. David Griffiths (Ontario) • 1995 The Late Honourable David C. McDonald (Alberta) • 1993 The Honourable G. Arthur Martin (Ontario) • 1991 Dr. W.A. Bowker (Alberta) • 1989 The Late Honourable Brian Dickson (SCC) • 1987

## CIAJ JUSTICE MEDAL CALL FOR NOMINATIONS 2022

## **CONDITIONS OF THE CIAJ JUSTICE MEDAL AWARD**

- 1. All nominations for the Award shall be made over the signature of at least two nominators.
- 2. All nominations must be received by the Executive Director, no later than September 15, 2022.
- 3. Each nomination shall be accompanied by a full description of the work and achievements of the nominee which, in the opinion of the nominators, qualifies the nominee for the award, together with such supporting evidence as the nominator may wish the committee to consider.
- 4. The Executive Director shall refer all such nominations received by CIAJ to the search committee:
  - Every other year before December 31, the Executive Committee is to appoint a search committee consisting of not more than 5 members of CIAJ;
  - The search committee is to prepare a list of at least 2 and not more than 5 nominees who meet the eligibility requirements. The list is to be submitted to CIAJ's Executive Committee;
  - The Executive Committee is to select the recipient of the Justice Medal from among the nominees on the list prepared by the search committee.
- No award shall be made if, in the opinion of the Executive Committee, no nominee meets the above conditions.
- 6. A nomination may be resubmitted for consideration in a subsequent year.
- 7. The Executive committee shall decide on or before September 30, 2022, who shall receive the Award.
- No member of the search committee is eligible for the Award nor any present member of the CIAJ Board of Directors who holds executive office is eligible for the Award.
- 9. Activities in furthering CIAJ should not be considered as a main reason for the Award. Nevertheless, this might be considered as a supporting or subsidiary factor where a person was nominated primarily for his of her other achievements in or contributions to the administration of justice in Canada.



for the Administration of Justice

Institut canadien d'administration de la justice

The Late Honourable Jules Deschênes (Québec) • 1985

Écouter. Apprendre. Inspirer.

CANADIAN INSTITUTE FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

5950 Chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges, Office 450 Montreal, Quebec, H3S 1Z6

Tel.: 514-731-2855

ciaj@ciaj-icaj.ca | www.ciaj-icaj.ca

