

2019 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES (DRAFT)

October 16, 2019, 4:00 (EDT) Le Bonne Entente (QC) Salle de Bal

Presents

Mr. Patrick A. Molinari, President

The Honourable James O'Reilly

The Honourable Georgina R. Jackson, Past-President

The Honourable Catherine Pilon

Mr. Athanasios Hadjis

The Honourable William Ehrcke

Mr. Michael Gottheil

The Honourable Colleen Suche

Mr. Mark Benton

The Honourable Peter Willcock

Mr. Adam Letourneau

The Honourable Lana Krogan

The Honourable Marc Richard

The Honourable Sébastien Grammond

The Honourable Frances Kiteley

Professor Martine Valois

Professor Bradford Morse

The Honourable Garrett A. Handrigan

Ms. Christine O'Doherty, Executive Director

Ms. Maria Aylward, CIAJ

Mr. Nathan Afilalo

Notice of the Meeting

The Notice of the Members' Meeting having been sent within the required delay, the Members' Meeting was called on the day and at the time set out in the Notice.

Opening Remarks

Mr. Patrick A. Molinari, President of CIAJ, opens the Annual General Members' Meeting, welcomes members present and thanks them for attending.

1. Adoption of the Minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting of Members

The Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Members, was held on October 18, 2018 at 12:15 are presented for adoption.

UPON A MOTION MADE BY MARK BENTON, SECONDED BY GEORGINA JACKSON, THE MINUTES ARE ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

2. Consideration of the Auditor's Report and Financial Statements for the fiscal year 2018–2019 (statements available on request);

The Honourable Catherine Pilon, Secretary-Treasurer and Chair of CIAJ's Finance and Audit Committee presents the Financial Statements as of June 30, 2019.

Revenues are at \$1,766 820 and charges totalize \$1,757 035 resulting in a deficit of \$44,330 for the year 2018–2019. As June 30, 2019, CIAJ has accumulated a surplus of \$409,496.

UPON A MOTION MADE BY MICHEAL GOTTHEIL, SECONDED BY CATHERINE PILON, THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ADOPTED UNANIMOUSLY.

3. Appointment of the Public Accountants for the fiscal year 2019–2020;

Patrick A. Molinari recommends that we appoint the firm Massie Turcotte Inc. as the auditors for fiscal year 2019–2020.

UPON A MOTION MADE BY MICHEAL GOTTHEIL, SECONDED BY CATHERINE PILON, MASSIE TURCOTTE INC. ARE UNANIMOUSLY APPOINTED AS AUDITORS FOR FISCAL YEAR 2019–2020.

4. Annual Report of the President

The Annual Report is available on CIAJ's website. The President, Mr. Patrick A. Molinari expresses warm thanks to Board members, the Executive Committee, the staff and members at large.

5. Election of members of the Board of Directors for 2019–2020 term.

For 2019-2020, the election of 24 Directors and potentially 26, is proposed. The following Directors were either elected or reelected last year for a term of two years.

Master Linda S. Abrams

Mr. Mark Benton

Mr. Stephen Bindman

Ms. Brenda Butterworth-Carr

The Hon. Thomas J. Crabtree

The Hon. Julie Dutil

Mr. Athanasios Hadjis

The Honourable Lana Krogan

The Hon. Lois R. Hoegg

Mr. Adam Letourneau

Mr. Patrick Molinari – Past-President

The Hon. Benoît Moore

The Hon. Yves-Marie Morissette

Dean Bradford Morse

The Hon. Shaun Nakatsuru

The Hon. Michelle O'Bonsawin

The Hon. James O'Reilly -President

The Hon. Marc Richard

Mr. Kent Roach

The Hon. Robert J. Sharpe

The Honourable Colleen Suche

Mr. Eric Tolpannen The Hon. Peter Willcock The Hon. Michael J. Wood

The Board of directors recommends to the AGA that the following people be appointed to the CIAJ's Board of Directors for their first two-year term in 2019–2020:

The Honourable Michelle O'Bonsawin, Superior Court of Justice (Ontario)

Adam Letourneau, lawyer and mediator, Lethbridge, Alberta The Honourable Scott Hughes, Senior Associate Chief Judge of the Court of Québec;

The following past president shall be designated as Honorary Director for a term of 5 years:

The Honourable Justice Georgina Jackson, Court of Appeal for Saskatchewan.

UPON A MOTION MADE BY GARRETT A. HANDRIGAN, SECONDED BY CATHERINE PILON, THE DIRECTORS AND HONORARY DIRECTORS ARE UNANIMOUSLY DECLARED ELECTED OR RE-ELECTED.

6. Varia

UPON MOTION MADE BY WILLIAM ERCKE AND SECONDED BY COLLEEN SUCHE, MEETING IS ADJOURNED. CARRIED.