Christine Huglo Robertson Essay Prize


The CIAJ is pleased to announce that Mr. Graham Sharp, a student at the University of Saskatchewan College of Law, is the recipient of the 2016 Christine Huglo Robertson Essay Prize for his text The Right of Access to Justice Under the Rule of Law: Guaranteeing an Effective Remedy. This prize comes with a $500 stipend. The CIAJ also invites the author to its Annual Conference “Civil Justice and Economics: A Matter of Value,” to be held October 5-7, 2016, in Ottawa. Press release (PDF)

About the Author

Photo Graham SharpGraham Sharp
3rd year undergraduate student
University of Saskatchewan College of Law

Born in Milton, Ontario, Graham Sharp has just entered his third and final year of undergraduate studies at the University of Saskatchewan College of Law. In the summer after his first year, he completed an externship at the Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission.  He holds a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Ottawa and a postgraduate certificate in Dispute Resolution from York University.




About the Prize

This prize honours Christine Huglo Robertson, Executive Director of the Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice between 1992 and 2012.


Competition for the prize is open only to students registered for an undergraduate degree (J.D., LL.B. or B.C.L.) at a Faculty of Law of a Canadian university and only for a paper written in the twelve months preceding the closing date for submissions. Papers submitted for academic credit may be submitted for this prize. Candidates must provide confirmation of their academic registration, including a statement of the date at which the text was written, and they must attest that the paper has not been submitted elsewhere, in whole or in part, for publication or a prize.

Subject and Form

The prize is awarded annually for an original paper, previously unpublished, on a topic relating to the administration of justice. Candidates are strongly encouraged to consider subjects relating to the theme of CIAJ’s Annual Conference scheduled in October. The theme for the 2016 conference to be held in Ottawa (ON) from October 5 to 7 is: Civil Justice and Economics: A Matter of Value.

Papers in French or English must be no more than 7500 words, including notes and tables. They must be in a format compatible with Microsoft Word. The candidate’s name and university should appear on the cover of the paper but the text must not otherwise identify the author of the submission.

Selection Process

A committee selects the best paper. It must be of publishable quality and make a significant contribution to scholarship concerning the administration of justice. CIAJ will not award the prize if there is no text of sufficient merit. CIAJ will publish the paper in digital or printed form. Copyright will remain with CIAJ. The author will be invited to the annual meeting of CIAJ in October and may be invited to present the paper on that occasion. CIAJ will provide to the recipient: travel, accommodation and registration to the 2016 Annual Conference in Ottawa, and a stipend of $500.

Submissions for the 2016 edition were closed on June 17, 2016. More details on the next edition will be announced in November 2016.


Year Recipient Title
2015 Mae Price, Faculty of Law, University of Victoria, Victoria, BC Colonial Legacies and Fiduciary Law: A Conceptual Framework for Addressing Aboriginal Health
2013 Allan Yi Lin Wu, Faculty of Law, University of Victoria, Victoria, BC Essentially Unsound?: The Impact of the “Essential Character” Approach to Arbitral Jurisdiction on The Administration of Industrial Justice